• Van Halen Tribute Contest!

Show us your Van Halen tributes! It can be rhythm or lead. Winner will be given 3 months of a Legendary membership FREE
    Deadline: October 24th

JOIN THE CONTEST
Golden Goddess Guitar Leaderboard

Fast Picking and Bad Habits

VizualSwami

Music Theory Bragger
Legend
Sep 28, 2020
Vermont
Hey!
So I am trying to work on getting better at fast picking. I've been playing guitar for a few years but only recently started using a pick. I realized I have this terrible habit of only wanting to down pick. Been trying to break it by focusing on up picking but whenever I space out I always forget. Any ideas on how to break a bad habit like this? Also if anyone has some good fast picking training or exercises they want to send my way feel free!
Thanks
~ Viz :cool:

Kfir Yaakovi

Local Dive Bar Favorite
Legend
Nov 11, 2019
Israel
Focus on only up picking. This way your brain will mix the habbits and it will be 50% 50% aka alternate picking.

Jokes aside, just keep on going up down up down on the same string doing some scales/training. You can find some on alternate picking lessons here on the school

Post your progress!!

Kim

Garage band Groupie
Nov 11, 2019
I would advice to choose an easy song for you and very slowly up and down pick. I used to have trouble with it, but after trying very slowly it gets more easy

Dominik Gräber

Local Dive Bar Favorite
Legend
  • Nov 11, 2019
    Saarland
    www.youtube.com
    First of all, downpicking is not all bad, especially in metal ;) It has more attack and needs to be practiced a lot to get a good downpicking speed.
    But I know that was not what you ment, so here's my tip: Watch the lessons on alternate or economy picking and maybe even watch Syn's Etudes on that topic. The Etudes will be way too fast (I guess?) to play up to speed for now, but they are great exercises even when played slow.