• Syn and Papa G stream September 30th

click here to learn more It's happening. Private stream Sept 30th.
S

Sweep Picking II

Lesson by: SynGates.com

Lucas Weiman

New Student
Nov 11, 2019
When you try to play it is there a specific part of a phrase you have trouble with?
Sweeping is made up of half a dozen of smaller techniques, all must be learned in order for it to sound good. If you want to get better, I would recommend making a video of you playing and explaining in your own words things that you get stuck on :)

Jackson Harsin

New Student
Nov 11, 2019
Indiana
So I have been sweep picking for around 4-5 years in my technique and it was all self taught with supporting youtube videos at the time. Although I was using these videos as some nice practice, I realized that when I sweep up from the high e, i don't change direction until i sweep through the entirety of the arpeggio as it runs up, but in this video Syn changes direction a note before so he can sweep down entirely instead of in the middle, if that makes sense. My question is, is this all personal preference, or should I revise my technique? @Brian Haner Sr. @Syn Gates

Calvin Phillips

New Student
Nov 11, 2019
So I have been sweep picking for around 4-5 years in my technique and it was all self taught with supporting youtube videos at the time. Although I was using these videos as some nice practice, I realized that when I sweep up from the high e, i don't change direction until i sweep through the entirety of the arpeggio as it runs up, but in this video Syn changes direction a note before so he can sweep down entirely instead of in the middle, if that makes sense. My question is, is this all personal preference, or should I revise my technique? @Brian Haner Sr. @Syn Gates
Are you saying when you change from ascend to descend? I always try to change as soon as possible if I can.

Reactions: Jackson Harsin

Ben Grosskreuz

New Student
Nov 11, 2019